Baseball’s basic knowledge about the possessory right of base: how to deal with the case in which two runners are on a base.
Have you ever thought that baseball is difficult? The difference between the tag-out and force-out or rules about the tag-up are so popular that I think you guys know well about them. However, when a rare case occurs to you, you generally get confused , don’t you?
If you get confused, you probably don’t get used to baseball. But it’ll be as simple as the difference I told you after you understand the rules.
・Two runners on a base
Rundown-play happens once or twice a game. As a result of the rundown-play, there are sometimes the case in which two runners are on a base. But the baseball rule says two runners can’t possess the same base at the same time.
［from the video］
A man on first and second, first runner is Brown and second one is Segra.
→They tried a double steal, but the catcher noticed it and did a pickoff attempt.
→Brown advanced to second while Segra were between second and third.
・Who possess the second in this case??
In this case, because the player who possesses the second is Segra, Brown is going to be tagged out. As long asAs long as Brown is on the second, he never lose a wicket. The baseball rule says that when two runners are on a base, the former has the possessory right and the latter is going to lose a wicket if he are tagged out in the case of ball in play.
If two runners are on a base, the latter is going to be tagged out.
※Except for the case in which the former are going to be forced out.
… If the one of the two runners is in force play(he must move on a next base), the runner in force play loses a wicket. For example, no out, a man on first and second and a infielder catches a short hop. And then, second runner comes back on second by mistake. Finally, two runners are on a second. In this case, the former runner is going to lose a wicket because he is in force play.
In a tense match, most of players get confused, so you can reduce unnecessary advances and outs by playing as coolly as you can. Please check your play under the rundown-play.
These are the rare play of Segra I mentioned above and the the double play occurred by Sakamoto’s mistake. But Sakamoto’s mistake is also said a good play by Joshima, who knows the baseball rule well. Please check it out.
Video source:Segura’s baserunning adventures
- 筋力トレーニング2020.06.29Work Out-make practices more fun by combining the running with tic-tac-toe
- 守備練習2020.06.25基礎練習 キャッチボールは遊び心が大切！？ 前田健太投手オススメのキャッチボールとは
- ピッチング練習2020.06.22Throwing practice –To learn the correct way of shadow pitching
- ピッチング練習2020.06.15Throwing practice – Sidearm: practices which improves the extension of pitching